Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andrew Lansdowne 43 posts 124 karma points
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 12:27
    Andrew Lansdowne

Update other node property values in a custom datatype

Hi everyone,

Before my first post, will just say I'm just starting out with Umbraco and loving it!Thanks for a great product and great documentation/support.

I have a particular document type which some of its properties' data already exist in another system. So the idea is when the CMS user creates the page, they may choose to import some content from the other system by entering an ID, clicking a button, then the CMS will let them choose which data to copy in, before updating the properties' values in the CMS.

So far I have created a new datatype which stores the identifier entered (which is just a string) and renders using a user control implementing IUsercontrolDataEditor. I added a button to the user control and made the API call to the other system to load in the existing data and let the user choose which values to import. Now comes my problem - I have to somehow copy the values into the CMS.

My ideal solution is to find the various editor fields in the cms (all are textstrings) and update the value in them, so that the new values can be checked in their actual fields before the user clicks Save. Is this possible (to update values of OTHER properties from within one property's editor) and if so, how? If not, I was going to find the current node's ID so I can load it up and update the values programatically, but I can't find out how to get the current node ID either! Perhaps i'm going about this completely wrong and should be extending the main CMS editor 'page' instead of a custom datatype.

Thanks for your help,

Andy

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 12:38
    Dirk De Grave

Hi Andrew,