Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Willem Luijk 24 posts 95 karma points
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:10
    Willem Luijk

How to create links in typical CRUD scenario to jump from the index page to the Detail page in same SurfaceController

Please can someone help me out? I am new to Umbraco.

I am moving a crud scenario from MVC 4 to Umbraco. I created a SurfaceController that returns a partial named "AnimalIndex". In the template is de code:

@{ Html.RenderAction("Index", "Animal");}

That is working fine, the final page is decorated with top and bottom templates. However now we need to wire up these buttons:

@Html.ActionLink("Details", "Details", new { id = item.ID })
    @Html.ActionLink("Edit", "Edit", new { id = item.ID })
    @Html.ActionLink("Delete", "Delete", new { id = item.ID })

I tried this one for Details:

<a href="@Url.Content("~/For-Sale-With-Members/Details?id="+item.ID.ToString())">Details</a>

...and pointed the link to another called Details with the "For-Sale-With-Members/Details" link. This is an awfull solution. Each time the page is renamed the links are broken.

The results of these links are pages that has bypassed by the Umbraco render engine and the link generates this error:

Server Error in '/' Application.

The "RenderBody" method has not been called for layout page "~/Views/Animal.cshtml".

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code. 

Exception Details: System.Web.HttpException: The "RenderBody" method has not been called for layout page "~/Views/Animal.cshtml".

• Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Sep 05, 2015 @ 08:46
    Dave Woestenborghs

Hi Willem,

You can do this behavior entirely client side with angular.