Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Vineet Kothari 32 posts 53 karma points
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 22:04
    Vineet Kothari

Help to start building modules

Hi 

I am fairly new to umbraco though I have previously worked on php CMSes like joomla, drupal & so on, but this is my first .NET CMS. I wanted to make few modules such as an invitation portal or a classified ads portal or a mix of both.

I understand for that I have to build modules and plugins but I don't understand from where to start & how to begin building the module.

Can anyone guide me how to start and how to proceed with the module/package development or may be provide with the documentation to extend umbraco, I tried to find it but was unsuccessful. I know the forum & the community of umbraco is very much active and helpful so I think this would be a nice place to seek some help. 

Though any replies here will be highly appreciated but if anyone wishes to help with through email than please do so on [email protected] 

BTW is there already any modules/package available for invitation portal and classified ads portal (may be a very smaller version of criagslist) available?? 

Thanks alot :)

• Aaron Powell 1708 posts 3046 karma points c-trib
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 00:44
    Aaron Powell

Invest in a umbraco.tv subscription (http://umbraco.tv/), it is the best way to get into Umbraco development.

• Vineet Kothari 32 posts 53 karma points
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 01:10
    Vineet Kothari

I was thinking of doing that but I wasn't sure if they have the source for such minute detail for a newbie to start development. If anyone has taken subscription can let me know if thats a good way & I would still love if someone can provide me with his experience of development on umbraco that how to start & what are his tips I should be following as a newbie & a moderate level .NET programmer.