Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Vineet Kothari 32 posts 53 karma points
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 22:47
    Vineet Kothari

creating a package with database

Hi Umbraco experts,

I am fairly new to umbraco & I like it very much & this is my 1st ASP.NET CMS. I have been familiar with PHP CMS. I like umbraco & how you can make your own user controls & add them without actually knowing the whole design structure of umbraco & getting into the complex code of the CMS.

Let me get to the question. I am planning to develop an extension/package of umbraco as my project in school by creating an invitation portal from where people can invite others for their private/public parties & events.

For that I will have to create some pages such as to create event, modify/edit event, view event & so on. I will also have a database to store the details of events. I wish to user member details & member login as the one provided by umbraco member.

So if anyone can guide me what steps I should follow in oder to develop a package which once installed in a fresh umbraco can shoot up the invitation portal keeping in my I will need few relational database tables to be added in the umbraco database.

I apologize if I have asked a very vague question but experts please do respond as I have to finish this project due pretty soon so wish to finish it in 1-2 weeks of time-frame.

Thanks

• Chris Dunn 210 posts 401 karma points
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 02:43
    Chris Dunn

Go to the developers section and right click on the Packages node in the tree.  Click create and enter a name for your package.  It will then allow you to select the content nodes, document types, macros, images, scripts you would like to include in your package.  Hit the publish button and a link will display allowing you to download the package locally.  Pretty simple.

For some advanced features take a look at the package actions wiki entry