Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Vineet Kothari 32 posts 53 karma points
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 10:29
    Vineet Kothari

Retrieving member nodeId after login

I am building a small invitation portal allowing member to create event & send others invitation for the event.

I am using osMemberControls for login, logout, member registration as well as member profile. But since a member's event will be associated to his nodeID (I am creating my own table in order to store the details of event into the database). How will I extract a members id after he logs in. Umbraco does not pass query strings, I dont know what other way is used either session or cookie.

I am not a programmer so I dont know how to do it. can anyone help me how I can extract member info in my user control so that I can use it to display the events created by him.

Thanks
    Vineet

Apr 13, 2010 @ 20:08
    Vineet Kothari

*bump*

• Kevin Farrow 46 posts 67 karma points
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 20:59
    Kevin Farrow

have you tried...

string memberGuid = HttpContext.Current.Request.Cookies["umbracoMemberGuid"].Value;
    umbraco.cms.businesslogic.member.Member member = new Member(new guid(memberGuid));

int memberId = member.Id;

Regards,
    Kevin Farrow
    http://www.RevisionSoftware.com

Apr 14, 2010 @ 05:50
    Vineet Kothari

Kevin I tried what you suggested btu I received this error:

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code. 

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

What I did was just used your code & tried to print that ID by click on a button. I referenced & used using umbraco.cms.businesslogic.member;
    using umbraco.cms;