Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• javier 64 posts 84 karma points
    May 03, 2010 @ 12:56
    javier

Membership user control

Hi guys,

I'm a noob with umbraco, but now i understand all umbraco structure, macros...most of umbraco file system. But i have some problems developing user control to membership management.

I have some questions that can not answer with Wiki or Books...or all documents over the OUR umbraco.

- From the standard installation, is Membership provider correctly set it on web.config?

- I need to add all membership system to umbraco. register,login,remember..etc. And like much people say it's very easy with asp.net standard controls. Is there any problem if ISS6 is on .net 2.0 but my ascx proyect is on net. 3.5? Is umbraco 4.03 under net.3.5?

- Where would you start developing the membership for your user management? I tried adding simple user wizard control, i create the macro and when i try to sign up an user:

No node exists with id '0'

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.ArgumentException: No node exists with id '0'

My problem is that if i have a good level over vb.net, i'm starting now with asp.net. so i dont see too much problems for me developing custom controls with vb code, but all web.config, remote files, remote debug...is complete new for me.

Thank you guys

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    May 03, 2010 @ 15:38
    Dirk De Grave

Javier,

First things to check:

- Do you have a member type setup? Should at least have one under "Members" - "Member types"