Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Torben Jensen 13 posts 35 karma points
    May 12, 2010 @ 14:55
    Torben Jensen

Login / Logout without using javascript - possible ?

I have followed the video tutorial, and have finally made login / logout work.

However I would like to make login/ logout work without using Javascript (meaning that the form button has a GET / POST URL, instead of javascript:_dopostback href). So far I have not been able to identify any sources about how to do.

I am a newbie at ASP, but do know PHP and some XSLT, so not completely newbie. Did not create VisualStudio projects before, but honestly think it should be possible without, no ? So, can someone post or point to a complete example of a login / logout function in Umbraco using only plain HTML and get/post URLs ? I know too little to get from API documentation to developing a complete login macro myself.

Thanks for any help

• Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    May 12, 2010 @ 15:26
    Stefan Kip

You could just use a normal HTML Form without the runat="server" attribute and set the 'method' and 'action' to a page you've created to do some login stuff...

May 13, 2010 @ 14:59
    Torben Jensen

OK, the HTML form should be simple to create.

But can you point me to some place that demonstrates handling of GET and POST variables ?

I guess the following procedure should work:

* read GET or POST from form

* check in appropriate database for user/pass

* if acceptable, programatically login user, and redirect

• Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    May 18, 2010 @ 21:02
    Stefan Kip

Well, this is just basic HTML / ASP.NET and has nothing to do with Umbraco, except for checking the user (which is documented all over our.umbraco.org) ;-)

Jul 13, 2010 @ 08:51
    Torben Jensen

Kipusoep,