Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Lennart Stoop 304 posts 842 karma points
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 10:21
    Lennart Stoop

Text property treated as DateTime?

Hi guys,

I'm new to Razor and was hoping someone could help me understand this error?

What I am trying to do is order a set of nodes based on a property which is of type Textstring. The property holds a string value which represents a timespan (e.g. 35:20 as in 35 minutes and 20 seconds). The issue I am experiencing is that in fact the property seems to be treated as a DateTime.

Here's the razor code:

@inherits umbraco.MacroEngines.DynamicNodeContext

@
      var numberOfItems @Model.MaxHighscores
      var container @Model.HighscoreContainers.FirstOrDefault();
    }

<h2>Top @numberOfItems</h2>

<ol>
      @if (@container != null)
      {
        foreach (var highscore in @container.Highscores.OrderBy("participantScore").Take(numberOfItems){                                                                      
          <li>@highscore.ParticipantScore.ToString("HH:mm"@highscore.ParticipantName</li>
        }
      }
    </ol
    >

This code will work for values between 00:00 and 23:59 but will fail for larger timespans as these cannot be stored within a DateTime object.

Any ideas why the property is treated as a DateTime in the first place ?

Cheers

Lennart

• Michael Latouche 504 posts 819 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:40
    Michael Latouche

Hi Lennart,

I am no Razor expert eitehr, but as far as I can see from your code, I think the problem resides in the ToString("HH:mm") part. This is a date-time format, so you are basically telling Razor to format your ParticipantScore as an "Hour:minutes" format, which will indeed not work for 35:20.