Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Bob LoCicero 13 posts 32 karma points
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 23:46
    Bob LoCicero

Wanted: Good, Clear, "Getting Started" with Razor for macros

Hi,

I'm having a hard time find a good, clear, step-by-step post on how to get started with creating a Razor macro. I've been plowing through this: http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/code-snippets/razor-snippets

I feel like this post gives a lot of detailed information that would be helpful to me after I have learned the basics.

Unfortunately, the posts are over my head at this point: I feel like I'm reverse engineering the information. Razor syntax is clear enough: but the specifics of how create a macro with it are very unclear.

Also: Is there a library of macros that others have already done? I'm new to this platform and it seems like most of what I need others have probably already developed. I'd prefer to use existing wheels rather than create my own.

Thanks.

• Justin Spradlin 139 posts 347 karma points
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 04:12
    Justin Spradlin

I would suggest you start with the Cultiv razor examples. http://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/cultiv-razor-examples

It is a complete umbraco install showing how to utilze all the built in data types, plus the uComponents data types and the DAMP media picker. 

Like everything with umbraco, there are lots of ways to get the job done depending on your requirements. Here are a few of your options when working with razor macros.