Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:38
    Simon Dingley

Children of Root Node that are of a Specific Document Type

Once again I am being challenged by this Razor malarky! All I want to do is get the first child node under the root that is of a specific document type so that I can list out links to their child pages but no matter what I try the "Enumeration yielded no results"! 

I've tried the following with no success:

@Model.Ancestor().Children.Where("NodeTypeAlias == \"doctypeAlias\"")
    @Model.Ancestor().doctypeAlias
    @Model.Ancestor().Descendants("doctypeAlias")

Am I doing something very obviously wrong?

• Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:44
    Tom Fulton

I'm still learning myself, but I think either of these should work.  I'm not quite sure how Ancestor() works...

@Model.Parent().Textpages
    @Model.AncestorOrSelf("Home").Textpages

-Tom

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5058 posts 15520 karma points MVP admin hq
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:44
    Sebastiaan Janssen

You said it yourself, you want the first one.. :-)

@Model.AncestorOrSelf().Children.Where("NodeTypeAlias == \"doctypeAlias\"").First()

Added OrSelf (to make sure that it also works on the root node) and level 1 to make sure you go to the root node. Then added First() in the end to get the first found node. Then you can add .Children to put it in a foreach. 

This is almost the exact example from my Razor Examples project, ContentSubMenu.cshtml if you want to have a look.

Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:34
    Simon Dingley

I should have added that I had already tried

@Model.AncestorOrSelf().Children.Where("NodeTypeAlias == \"doctypeAlias\"")

...which still doesn't return any result. Your example above also returns null :p

Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:41
    Sebastiaan Janssen