Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Doug Robertson 121 posts 154 karma points
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 20:07
    Doug Robertson

Razor based Hello World project for v5.0

Hi,

I am very excited to see Umbraco v5.0 coming together. I am new to Umbraco, but am very experienced in ASP.NET MVC and the Razor syntax.

Currently I am building a new web site that I hope can be built on Umbraco 5.0. I am doing early feasability testing and want to build a small proof of concept site with a few features; Blog pages, News pages, event calendar, etc. The specific pages aren't importiant, but I want to effectively do a Hello, World test on the different features.

Is there any basic projects that show how to do this work in Visual Studio 2010? Any guides that directly apply to what I am doing?

I have been going over the videos and posts I can find, but I am honestly confused about what applies to Umbraco 5.0 and what breaking changes there are from past versions. I am not interested in using/learning XSLT (just no time), just want to use .cshtml pages in my templates and pages.

Thanks for the help,

Doug

• Markus Johansson 1911 posts 5757 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:26
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:55
    Doug Robertson

Thanks for the answer Markus.

It gets me about 1/2 way there.  I looked at this and it does allow for me to load the Umbraco v5.0 system up into a Visual Studio project.  That is a good first step, but I am unsure what to do next.  What files need to go where? Is there anything that needs to be done with the package.xml file?  How do I do master pages using just .cshtml pages?