Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sean 141 posts 179 karma points
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 13:03
    Sean

Compiler Error Message: CS0266: Cannot implicitly convert type Umbraco 5.1

Hi There,

I'm wanting to iterate through my model. I'm new to MVC and umbraco v5 and I was hoping to get some help with my syntax please?

Cannot implicitly convert type 'namepace.Models.myModel' to 'System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<namespace.Models.myModel>'. An explicit conversion exists (are you missing a cast?)

@inherits RenderViewPage
    @using Umbraco.Cms.Web;
    @using namespace.Models;

@{ IEnumerable<namespace.Models.myModel> someModel  = new namespace.Models.myModel();}

@using(Html.BeginUmbracoForm("HandleFormSubmit", "SurfaceForm"))
    {

if (someModel != null){
        <ol>
            @foreach(var item in someModel){   
                <li>@item.Name</li>
            }
        </ol>
     }

}

• Grant Thomas 291 posts 324 karma points
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 15:34
    Grant Thomas

You're creating a single instance of `myModel`, while the declaration of the variable is a collection of `myModel`s (more specfically, `IEnumerable

You could get around this by simply doing:

namespace.Models.myModel someModel = new namespace.Models.myModel();

However, some things woth mentioning here:

- `namespace` is not a very good naming convention considering `namespace` is a reserved word in C# (and in fact is illegal to use as a namespace name, so not sure how you managed that; I think Umbraco mangles the `@using`s a bit though (not entirely sure about this))

- `myModel` need not be fully qualified if you import the namespace with your `using` directive

Apr 12, 2012 @ 05:10
    Sean

Hi There,

After making the changes you suggested I'm getting an another exception: