Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Michael 63 posts 211 karma points
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 21:45
    Michael
    0

    RSS feed displaying a specific doctype

    Hi guys

    Been searching the forum and google without result, sorry if I missed a similar post.

    I am new at this razor stuff (more of a design/html/css guy :P), so still a lot of learning to do. I am trying to make a RSS feed which only displays a specific doctype in my news section.

    My site structure looks like this:

    Website
    -Subpage
    ...

    Newssection
    -Year
    --NewsArticle
    --NewsArticle
    -Year
    --NewsArticle

    and so on.

    I have been using the code from the Umbraco Razor RSS recipes: http://umbraco.com/help-and-support/video-tutorials/umbraco-fundamentals/razor-recipes/rss.aspx

    My code looks like this:

    @{
        //Change mime type
        umbraco.library.ChangeContentType("text/xml");   
        
        //Get the domain
        var siteURL = "http://" + Request.Url.Host;
        
        //Get the news area node (only one of these per site)
        var newsAreaNode = Model.NewsArticles.First();
        
        //Get the latest createDate of all news items to use as the RSS feed updateDate
        var RSSFeedPubDate = newsAreaNode.Children.Where("Visible").OrderBy("updateDate desc").First();
    }
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <rss version="2.0"
        xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
        xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
        xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
        xmlns:rssdatehelper="urn:rssdatehelper">
            <channel>
                <title>My first RSS</title>
                <link>@siteURL</link>
                <pubDate>@RSSFeedPubDate.UpdateDate.ToString("r")</pubDate>
                <generator>umbraco</generator>
                <description>This is my first rss feed</description>
                <language>en</language>
                @{
                    foreach (var item in newsAreaNode.Children.Where("Visible"))
                    {
                        <item>
                            <title>@item.Name</title>
                            <link>@item.Url</link>
                            <pubDate>@item.UpdateDate.ToString("r")</pubDate>
                            <guid>@item.Url</guid>
                            <content:encoded><![CDATA[@item.bodyText]]></content:encoded>
                        </item>
                    }
                }
            </channel>
    </rss>

     

    I am guessing i need to modify the var newsAreaNode? I just can't wrap my head around way to do it :(

    Any help/pointers/links are most welcome :)


    /Michael

  • Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 22:58
    Tom Fulton
    0

    Hi Michael,

    I think one of these methods should work:

    foreach (var item in newsAreaNode.Children.Where("Visible && NodeTypeAlias=@0", "NewsArticle"))
    foreach (var item in newsAreaNode.NewsArticles.Where("Visible")) 
    // in razor you can use the pluralized version of the NodeTypeAlias to filter children

    Also if you're looking for more Razor examples, check out:

    Cultiv Razor Examples
    Razor DynamicNode Cheat Sheet

    HTH,
    Tom 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • Michael 63 posts 211 karma points
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 14:51
    Michael
    0

    Hi Tom

    Got it working now. Thanks for the pointers ;)

     

    /Michael

  • Darshit 7 posts 50 karma points
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 19:22
    Darshit
    0

    HI I am having same problem!!

     

    my domain http://maceit.visa4u.in

     

    i am creating rss feed for my news and events "http://maceit.visa4u.in/news-and-events.aspx" ..

     

    i am using this razor

     

    @{
        //Change mime type
        umbraco.library.ChangeContentType("text/xml");  
       
        //Get the domain
        var siteURL = "http://" + Request.Url.Host;
       
       
       
        //Get the news area node (only one of these per site)
        var newsAreaNode = Model.NewsAreas.First();
       
       
       
        //Get the latest createDate of all news items to use as the RSS feed updateDate
        var RSSFeedPubDate = newsAreaNode.Children.Where("Visible").OrderBy("updateDate desc").First();
    }
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <rss version="2.0"
        xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
        xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
        xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
        xmlns:rssdatehelper="urn:rssdatehelper">
            <channel>
                <title>MaceIT News RSS Feed</title>
           
                <link>@siteURL</link>
                <pubDate>@RSSFeedPubDate.UpdateDate.ToString("r")</pubDate>
                <generator>MaceIT News Admin Panel</generator>
                <description>Add your description here</description>
                <language>en</language>
                @{
                    foreach (var item in newsAreaNode.Children.Where("Visible && NodeTypeAlias=@0", "NewsArticle"))
                    {
                   
                        <item>
                            <title>@item.Name</title>
                            <link>@item.Url</link>
                            <pubDate>@item.UpdateDate.ToString("r")</pubDate>
                            <guid>@item.Url</guid>
                            <content:encoded><![CDATA[@item.bodyText]]></content:encoded>
                        </item>
                   
                    }
                }
            </channel>
    </rss>

     

    but http://maceit.visa4u.in/RSStest1 while using this getting nothing!!!

     

    please help me!!

  • MikeD 92 posts 112 karma points
    May 01, 2013 @ 17:46
    MikeD
    0

    Not sure if anyone is still paying attention here, but I am having an issue with this script as well.  If I leave the <link> tag in my foreach loop, I get an error saying there is no closing <item> tag.  If I remove the <link> tag everything works like a champ.  It does not matter what is in there, it's the tags themselves apparently.  I tried putting static text and no text, same results.

    Any ideas or assistance would be most appreciated!

  • Andy 7 posts 26 karma points
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 18:00
    Andy
    0

    Just experienced this same issue, looks like <link> is reserved. I was able to use @:<link>@node.url</link> in my loop. 

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies