Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 10:44
    Peter Schermers
    0

    Combining 'pagination' and 'embedded content' in Umbraco

    As the topic reads, I'm trying to combine those two together.

    Here's the scenario:

    1. I have a general productpage in Umbraco, just to keep all products together (no options or code here)
    2. The user can create product categories (nodes) beneath it
    3. *This is NOT what I need pagination for since I was already able to show the list of product categories
    4. Inside these categories (you guessed it) am I using Embedded Content to let the user create unlimited products
    5. So here's my point: I've read the tutorial about how to create pagination inside Umbraco using Razor, but this is meant for NODES. And since I'm using EMBEDDED CONTENT instead, I really have no idea how to edit the provided code to get Umbraco to paginate all the products inside the categories

    What do I do?

    Thanks in advance!

  • Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 10:48
    Peter Schermers
    0

    PS: Of course I would like to have this code in such a way that I can define the parent node ("products", which has ID 1089), and to have the code get all the children of this parent (categories) and to show the embedded content-items (products) inside these.

    Or am I asking too much here? :-)

  • Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 09:52
    Peter Schermers
    0

    Okay, I have been trying to combine the two pieces of code (one for pagination and one for embedded content) myself, and finally got at working. Almost.
    I just have one last line of code I can't get to work, and this essential line makes sure that, instead of ALL items, just the MAX items are shown per page.

    Here's the code I can't get to work because of these lines:

    @inherits umbraco.MacroEngines.DynamicNodeContext

    @{
        int pageSize; // How many items per page
        int page; // The page we are viewing

        /* Set up parameters */
       
        if (!int.TryParse(Parameter.PageSize, out pageSize))
        {
            pageSize = 3;
        }

        if (!int.TryParse(Request.QueryString["page"], out page))
        {
            page = 1;
        }

        /* This is your basic query to select the nodes you want */

        var nodes = @Model.producten;
       
        int totalNodes = nodes.Count();
        int totalPages = (int)Math.Ceiling((double)totalNodes / (double)pageSize);
       
        /* Bounds checking */
       
        if (page > totalPages)
        {
            page = totalPages; 
        }
        else if (page < 1)
        {
            page = 1;
        }
    }

    @foreach (var item in nodes.Skip((page - 1) * pageSize).Take(pageSize)) //When I add .Skip or .Take, it stops working
    {
        <div class="span8">
            <div class="prod_foto">
                <img src="@Library.MediaById(@item.prod_foto.InnerText).Url" />
            </div>
            <div class="prod_tekst">
                <h1>@item.prod_naam.InnerText</h1>
                <p>@item.prod_oms.InnerText</p>
            </div>
        </div>
    }
       
    <div class="pagination pagination-centered">
        <ul>
            @for (int p = 1; p < totalPages + 1; p++)
            {
                string active = (p == page) ? "active" : String.Empty;
                <li class="@active"><a href="?page=@p" title="Go to page @p of results">@p</a></li>
            }
        </ul>
    </div>

    As soon as I add 'Skip' or 'Take' to the foreach loop, everything stops working.
    How can I change this to make it working?

    Again, it's just this one line I can't get to work for my website to be finished.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated! ;-)

    Thanks in advance!

  • Tommy Turkijevic 7 posts 28 karma points
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 11:13
    Tommy Turkijevic
    1

    So when you use Skip or Take it do not work ?

    I will sit down and create a structure like yours and try to do this aswell, is the products children of a node or is it in its own root level ?

    What umbraco version are you using ?

    /Tommy

  • Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 11:16
    Peter Schermers
    0

    Hi Tommy,

    I posted my question at the Embedded Content project as well and got an answer back.
    To be honest, I don't really know how to combine his advice with my code, but I'm guess I have to go and find out.

    Here's the link:

    http://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/embedded-content/bugs/36202-Embedded-Content-doesn't-work-with-Skip()-or-Take()?p=0#comment131168

    Thanks for your help!

  • Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 11:59
    Peter Schermers
    0

    Got it working without .Skip or .Take with the help of a professional Umbraco developer.

    Thanks anyway, Tommy! ;-)

  • Tommy Turkijevic 7 posts 28 karma points
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 13:06
    Tommy Turkijevic
    0

    Super ! How did you solve it ?

     

    /Tommy

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies