Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Shawty 3 posts 22 karma points
    May 27, 2013 @ 18:02
    Shawty

Traversing up the tree for a default property

Hi all, 

This may have been asked before, but after spending several hours combing here (and arguing with moderation nazis on stackoverflow) Iv'e decided to join and ask my question here :-)

For reference, I'm fairly new to Umbraco, but in no way am I new to .NET/Razor/C# and software development in general (30+ years exp) , point being, I'm a newbie but not a newbie...  if that makes sense :-)

ANYWAY....

Upto now I've been using this pattern to pass parameters from my page properties in the content editor into my razor macros:

@Umbraco.RenderMacro(
      "TopMenu", new { 
         MenuIdOne = @Umbraco.Field("menuPageOne", altText: "0000", recursive: true), MenuNameOne = @Umbraco.Field("menuNameOne", altText: "", recursive: true),
        MenuIdTwo = @Umbraco.Field("menuPageTwo", altText: "0000", recursive: true), MenuNameTwo = @Umbraco.Field("menuNameTwo", altText: "", recursive: true),
        MenuIdThree = @Umbraco.Field("menuPageThree", altText: "0000", recursive: true), MenuNameThree = @Umbraco.Field("menuNameThree", altText: "", recursive: true),
        MenuIdFour = @Umbraco.Field("menuPageFour", altText: "0000", recursive: true), MenuNameFour = @Umbraco.Field("menuNameFour", altText: "", recursive: true),
        MenuIdFive = @Umbraco.Field("menuPageFive", altText: "0000", recursive: true), MenuNameFive = @Umbraco.Field("menuNameFive", altText: "", recursive: true)
    })

Embedding these calls directly into my Master pages and views worked well so far, esp given that I got the recursive stuff for free as well as a default value.

In my razor macro I was then able to check these values for the defaults and such like, and not have to worry about doing any traversing or anything like that myself.