Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Thomas Tvedt 7 posts 29 karma points
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 14:58
    Thomas Tvedt

Pointer to good tutorials?

I'm new to Umbraco and trying to figure out how everything works.. I want to use MVC and Umbraco 7, and I want to define as much as possible in code. I realize Umbraco 7 is pretty fresh, and I can't seem to find any good tutorials covering MVC and Umbraco 7. 

Can anyone point me to some good tutorials? I prefer written tutorials, I don't have the patience to watch movies

Are there any sample-solutions out there?

-Thomas

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 15:08
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Thomas,

Since you want to use MVC I would recommend to look here: Mvc templating and Built-in Property Editors

Even if you're not much for video tutorials I will still recommend to take a look on Umbraco TV umbraco.tv

Hope this is, what you was looking for.

/Dennis

Nov 26, 2013 @ 22:43
    Thomas Tvedt

Thank you, excellent links :) I assume these still apply for Umbraco 7.0.. 

Is it possible to define a document type in code? And use this as a strongly typed model in my views? In the documentation it states that @Model is always of type Umbraco.Web.Mvc.RenderModel (with property Content of type IPublishedContent). Can I define a model/viewmodel/document type "Article", and pass this into @Model in my views? I don't want to rely on "magic strings" @Model.Content.GetPropertyValue("bodyContent"), but want strongly typed models (@Model.BodyContent).

Is it normal not to implement any controllers in an Umbraco MVC project?

• Jeavon Leopold 3072 posts 13628 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 23:39
    Jeavon Leopold

Hi Thomas,

Yes, MVC is the same in Umbraco v7 as in v6.