Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Joshua Walsh 30 posts 151 karma points
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 07:32
    Joshua Walsh

Issues with traversing

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Razor so please excuse my stupidity here. I've inherited a decently sized website that uses Umbraco and Razor. So far I'm loving Umbraco but HATING Razor.

We've got a content tree that looks something like this:

Root
    |
    |-Products
    | |
    | |-Product A
    | |
    | |-Product B
    |
    |-Solutions
    | |
    | |-Solution A
    | |
    | |-Solution B
    | |
    | |-Solution C
    | |
    | |-Roles
    |   |
    |   |-Role A
    |   |
    |   |-Role B
    | 
    |
    etc...

This doesn't seem like the most efficient structure to me, but for now I am going to put up with it.

We have a dropdown menu which currently allows the user to select from either the solutions or the roles. (The roles use the same Content Type as the solutions)

<select id="Solutions" name="Solutions" style="width:225px"  >
        <option value="-1" >Select a solution</option>
        @foreach (var page in Model.AncestorOrSelf(1).Descendants("paSolution").Where("Visible"))
        {
            <option value="@page.Id" >@page.Name</option>                                     
        }
    </select>

As a small part of a fairly large update, I have been asked to make this only show Solutions and not Roles. 'No worries' I thought, but roughly 3 hours later I'm starting to realise that there are actually some worries.

I figure that once I can get hold of the Solutions node, it'll (hopefully) be easy to just grab .Children and iterate over those. The trick is that I can't actually get to the Solutions node.

I tried doing this:

var rootNodes = Model.AncestorOrSelf(1);
    var solutionsNode = rootNodes.Where(item => item.NodeTypeAlias == "paContent" && item.UrlName.ToLower() == "solutions");

and got the following: