Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Daniel Larsen 116 posts 381 karma points
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 12:06
    Daniel Larsen
    0

    List member properties and group names

    Hi,

    I have a member page, where I show the members with their properties like name, birthday and so.

    Now I would like to show which groups the different members are part of. How do I do that? Is there a special property i can retrieve?

    Thanks for your help! :-)

    /Daniel

    u7

  • Dan Lister 416 posts 1974 karma points c-trib
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 12:16
    Dan Lister
    1

    Hi Daniel,

    For each member displayed on the page, you should be able to use the following method to retrieve a list of groups the member is a part of:

    string[] groups = Roles.GetRolesForUser(member.Username);
    

    Hope that helps.

    Thanks, Dan.

  • Daniel Larsen 116 posts 381 karma points
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 12:38
    Daniel Larsen
    0

    Thanks Dan!

    I hope you will help me a bit more.

    I have this code, but I am doing it wrong.

    @{
        var y = Member.GetAll; 
        foreach (var item in y) {
           string[] groups = Roles.GetRolesForUser(member.Username);
           @groups 
        }
    }
    

    Thank you for your help! :-)

    /Daniel

  • Dan Lister 416 posts 1974 karma points c-trib
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 12:43
    Dan Lister
    100

    Hi Daniel,

    You'll need an extra for each loop to iterate through each member's groups. This should do the trick:

    @{
        int total;
        var members = ApplicationContext.Services.MemberService.GetAll(1, 0, out total);
    
        foreach (var member in members)
        {
            var groups = Roles.GetRolesForUser(member.Username);
    
            if (!groups.Any())
            {
                continue;
            }
    
            foreach (var group in groups)
            {
                @group
            }
        }
    }
    

    Hope that helps.

    Thanks, Dan.

  • Daniel Larsen 116 posts 381 karma points
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 13:01
    Daniel Larsen
    0

    Thank you very much for helping me!

    I get this error unfortunatly: "The name 'ApplicationContext' does not exist in the current context"

    /Daniel

  • Dan Lister 416 posts 1974 karma points c-trib
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 13:31
    Dan Lister
    1

    Hmmm strange. Maybe try using the following instead. Although I'd suggest only using the new Services if possible.

    var members = umbraco.cms.businesslogic.member.Member.GetAllAsList()
    

    Thanks, Dan.

  • Daniel Larsen 116 posts 381 karma points
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 13:44
    Daniel Larsen
    0

    Thank you!

    Can it have anything to do with me using macroscripts and not partial views?

    That did not work either.

    /Daniel

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft