Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Justin 19 posts 163 karma points
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 05:31
    Justin

My Solution to passing Models to Strongly Typed Umbraco Views

Hi all,

i am quite new to umbraco and hit an issue when trying to integrate an existing web app into the Umbraco framework.

The problem related to my original controllers (which i modified to derive from RenderMvcController) passing ViewModels to Strongly typed Umbraco Views.

After some investigation i learned that if i wanted my Views to have access to the Umbraco helper and Page Properties then my ViewModels need to derive from RenderModel.

I also found that if my my Controller returned IEnumerable then i have to do something like this (from post https://our.umbraco.org/forum/developers/razor/55389-UmbracoTemplatePage-and-strongly-typed-view-not-working-together?p=1):

public class myViewModel: RenderModel {
    public myViewModel() : this(new UmbracoHelper(UmbracoContext.Current).TypedContent(UmbracoContext.Current.PageId)) { }

public myViewModel(IPublishedContent content, CultureInfo culture) : base(content, culture) { }
    public myViewModel(IPublishedContent content) : base(content) { }
    //the other properties you need to pass to the view

}

The above 2 things i learned were problematic for me for the following reasons:

1. Although the application i am integrating into umbraco has only a few ViewModels i was hoping, if everything went well, to do the same for another application i have, which is much larger, so modifying the ViewModels would be a headache.

2. Adding RenderModel to my ViewModels project would mean a Dependency on Umbraco. This wasn't possible as the ViewModels project is part of a larger SDK which other users will use to Create front-ends for my Application.