Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• eddy 43 posts 64 karma points
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 16:35
    eddy

Body ID selector based on ancestor

I'm new to Umbraco and XSLT and have watched Pers great videos and read a few documents but have fallen at the first hurdle.

Depending on the active page, I would like to use a macro to render an ID selector to the pages' Body Tag based on a sections' parent node in order to apply CSS styles specific to that section. Thus all children will inherit the correct Body ID for that section and receive the correct styling from the stylesheet. I don't want to enter a property into the document type for the editor to enter each time they create a new article.

There's a few similar posts in the forums but nothing I've tried works. I tried Heather Mills' plugin but it renders a new ID selector for every page rather than each section.

I don't receive any errors but at the same time am not receiving any data. Could someone please point me in the right direction with some really basic tips? Am I using the correct output method? 

Here's one of the versions I tried which was very basic:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE xsl:stylesheet [ <!ENTITY nbsp "&#x00A0;"> ]>

<xsl:stylesheet 

version="1.0" 

xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform" 

xmlns:msxml="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt" 

xmlns:umbraco.library="urn:umbraco.library" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltCommon="urn:Exslt.ExsltCommon" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltDatesAndTimes="urn:Exslt.ExsltDatesAndTimes" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltMath="urn:Exslt.ExsltMath" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltRegularExpressions="urn:Exslt.ExsltRegularExpressions" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltStrings="urn:Exslt.ExsltStrings" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltSets="urn:Exslt.ExsltSets" 

exclude-result-prefixes="msxml umbraco.library Exslt.ExsltCommon Exslt.ExsltDatesAndTimes Exslt.ExsltMath Exslt.ExsltRegularExpressions Exslt.ExsltStrings Exslt.ExsltSets ">