Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• jdelagoutte 13 posts 26 karma points
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 11:57
    jdelagoutte

how to get node ID from URL

Hi everyone.

I'm quite new to XSLT and Umbraco and I want to create a page, taking as input the URL of a node.
    This page should display some properties of the node passed as input.

It is quite esay to get a node knowing its ID, but I couldn't find a "GetNodeByURL" function.

Umbraco should do it whenever someone is asking for a node using alternative link. But I can't find how.

Thanks

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 12:04
    Dirk De Grave

Hi,

If using xslt, try umbraco.library:GetXmlByXPath() which takes a xpath string expression making it possible to query the docs using the urlName.

[quote]
    Umbraco should do it whenever someone is asking for a node using alternative link.[/quote]
    If someone requests a page using an alternative link, all page info (for the current node) is still available through the $currentPage parameter

Or did misunderstand that last question?

Regards,
    /Dirk

Mar 10, 2009 @ 12:10
    jdelagoutte

Thanks Dirk

I forgot to mention that I'm using Umbraco 3.

By "Umbraco should do it whenever someone is asking for a node using alternative link.", I mean that, in your browser, when you type the address of a page of a website using Umbraco, Umbraco will have to retreive the node ID from the address you've typed. And I am wondering if we can access to the functionnality within a macro.

Mar 10, 2009 @ 12:25
    Dirk De Grave

Hi,

umbraco is responsible for getting the correct page and then makes the current page (node) available through xslt using the $currentPage parameter which can be found on any template to choose from the dropdown when creating an xslt file. In that case, the id of the page is available using: