Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Probocop 51 posts 71 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:19
    Probocop
    0

    Create a class based on top level section?

    On the site I'm developing I'd like to put a class on the <body> that is the top level section.

    For example, If my URL structure is 'http://www.example.com/top-level/second-level/current-page' I'd like to have <body class="top-level">

    How would I go about doing so?

    Thanks!

  • Probocop 51 posts 71 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:22
    Probocop
    0

    Sorry, that link should of been

    http://www.google.com/top-level/second-level/current-page

    I tried to edit the original post but I got an XSLT error :)

  • Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:30
    Rich Green
    1

    Hey,

    You can use the following in your master template

      <body<asp:ContentPlaceHolder Id="bodyClass" runat="server"/>>

    Then in your child templates you can put:

    <asp:content ContentPlaceHolderId="bodyClassrunat="server"> class="top-level"</asp:content>

    Rich

  • Probocop 51 posts 71 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:33
    Probocop
    0

    Hi, Thanks for you response.

    I don't think that would work in my scenario, as I am using the same template for multiple sections on the website. For example the news, case studies etc. But I am after a small thing changing in one of the sections (hiding something with CSS). Is it possible to do such a thing dynamically with XSLT?

  • Chriztian Steinmeier 2800 posts 8791 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:35
    Chriztian Steinmeier
    0

    That's an evil hack Rich :-)

    I answered a similar question (body ID instead) here: http://our.umbraco.org/forum/developers/xslt/12017-Body-ID-selector-based-on-ancestor

    /Chriztian

  • Probocop 51 posts 71 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:46
    Probocop
    0

    HI Chriztian,

    That is what I was after, thank you very much!

    One question though, as my level 2 pages can be two words, is it possible to hyphenate them? And maybe also make it lowercase?

    Thanks!

  • Chriztian Steinmeier 2800 posts 8791 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:57
    Chriztian Steinmeier
    0

    Hi Probocop,

    Sure thing - you could use the @urlName attribute instead of @nodeName, which is always lowercased and properly escaped.

    /Chriztian 

  • Probocop 51 posts 71 karma points
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 13:03
    Probocop
    0

    Perfect, thank you very much :-)

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies