Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dana 10 posts 30 karma points
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 22:35
    Dana

news release archive

I'm relatively new to xslt, and I'm looking for help doing something I think (but am not certain) is farily simple.

On my site I have a bunch of press releases, each an individual piece of content, sorted by calendar year.

I'd like to automatically populate a separate archive page with a list of all press releases, or perhaps separate lists for each folder.

I assume this can be achieved with an xslt maco, and the answer is probably somewhere in the forum already, but I can't find anything that really matches my goal.

If anyone posts xslt, can you comment it so I can learn what each bit in the code is doing? I'd really like to be able to create these macros myself at some point.

Thanks!
    Dana

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 23:21
    Rich Green

Hey Dana,

The concept I would use would be to keep the same structure you have and add a 'Archive' property to your Press Releases DocType of the type "True/False".

Then when you're pulling out your current Press releases you can check that it's not 'Archived' and for your archive page you pull all the Press Releases where Archived = true.

Make sense?

Rich

Nov 03, 2011 @ 21:18
    Dana

That does make sense, and might be easier than what I was originally planning. However, since I'm not familiar with xslt syntax, I have no idea how to create a macro that would pull all child pages marked "true."

Visually here's what my file structure looks like:

[] News Archives
         [] News 2011
              [] News Release 01
              [] News Release 02
              [] News Release 03
         [] News 2010
              [] News Release 01
              [] News Release 02
              [] News Release 03