Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Neil 63 posts 105 karma points
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 19:46
    Neil

best way put link separators in horizontal list

I am trying to modify the footerNav.xslt to put vertical separators ('|') only between links.  In C#, you'd set a flag to 0, enter the for-each loop and test the flag to see if it's 1, and if not, put a separator before the link itself before setting the flag to 1 for the rest of the iterations.

Another way to do this would be to test if the node who's link you're displaying is the first in the list, but I'm totally new to xslt and so need some help to do that or the flag setting I was thinking about above. 

Any suggestions on the best/easiest way to position these vertical separators using xslt would be greatly appreciated.

• Jeff 11 posts 73 karma points
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 20:56
    Jeff

Hi Neil,

I'll take a stab at it by providing an example. My code loops through pages of the current page and constructs an Unordered HTML list. On each loop through I test to make sure the current page isn't the last page in the list of children. If it is the last page in the list then it simply does not output the separator:

<ul>
    <!-- loop through each child page of the current page. -->
    <!-- explaination of what elements I'm selecting: -->
    <!-- $currentPage/* selects all XML elements under the current node. [@isDoc] targets only elements with the 'isDoc' attribute. This makes sure we're
    selecting only child nodes that are also pages of the website.  -->

<xsl:for-each select="$currentPage/* [@isDoc]"> 
    <li>
    <!-- use braces or curly brackets '{}' as a short hand of inserting xslt output into attributes of HTML tags: <element attribute="{xslt output}">
    e.g. <a href="{./@id}">-->