Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Laura Holland 82 posts 103 karma points
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 21:48
    Laura Holland

xslt macro for generating a list of articles, by category?

Hello folks,

I'm new at both XSLT and Umbraco, and I'm liking both so far. I am creating a macro to generate a listing of articles, by category, that are on the website. I created an article document type and added a checkbox list data type for the article author to check off the appropriate categories, no problem.  I was originally going to build an asp.net user control to generate the listing, but I found a snippet of XSLT somewhere on this forum (can't find it now) which does nearly what I need to do. I tweaked it a bit, and it works spendidly. My problem is that in my document type I created a checkbox list to mark the category of the article, and multiple categories can be selected, which messes things up.

What I want is this, where "strawberry" is about both "Fruit" and "Red" categories:

Fruit

• blueberry
    • strawberry

Red

• strawberry

What I currently get from the XSLT is this:

Fruit

• blueberry

Fruit, Red

• strawberry

Can this be done with xslt?

This is what I'm working with now, and it would work swimmingly if it weren't for the multiple values:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE xsl:stylesheet [ <!ENTITY nbsp "&#x00A0;"> ]>
    <xsl:stylesheet
        version="1.0"
        xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
        xmlns:msxml="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt"
        xmlns:umbraco.library="urn:umbraco.library" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltCommon="urn:Exslt.ExsltCommon" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltDatesAndTimes="urn:Exslt.ExsltDatesAndTimes" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltMath="urn:Exslt.ExsltMath" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltRegularExpressions="urn:Exslt.ExsltRegularExpressions" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltStrings="urn:Exslt.ExsltStrings" xmlns:Exslt.ExsltSets="urn:Exslt.ExsltSets"