Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Andrey Shchekin 3 posts 83 karma points
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 03:05
    Andrey Shchekin
    0

    When developing a package, can I rely on Umbraco backoffice being a single server/application?

    Based on load-balancing advice it seems that backoffice is expected to be on a single server. Are there any cases when it wouldn't be?

    I'm developing a backoffice plugin so I need to know whether to store my (transient) state in application memory, or whether to share it through a database.

  • Jon R. Humphrey 164 posts 455 karma points c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 06:10
    Jon R. Humphrey
    1

    Andrey,

    Not sure on the answer to this, but I'd like to know too?

    Possibly the best person to ask is Jeavon from Crumpled Dog, I've tweeted your Our link and tagged him for you!

    Let's see what he says!

    Cheers, Jon

  • Gerty Engrie 130 posts 490 karma points c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 06:44
    Gerty Engrie
    0

    Hi all,

    as i recall from the fab loadbalancing workshop on codegarden, the admin side of umbraco should always be on 1 (and only 1) server. Otherwise you'll run into a lot of trouble.... (although i have no idea what kind of trouble, i'm not eager on finding out the details myself ;-) ).

    Gerty

  • Jon R. Humphrey 164 posts 455 karma points c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 06:51
    Jon R. Humphrey
    0

    Good point Gerty! :-D

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 12:34
    Simon Dingley
    0

    I can confirm from personal experience that allowing editing and publication from multiple servers can cause a real headache and a lot of confusion with different content appearing on different servers so we now force all editors onto a "master" server in the load balancer. Currently we do this via rewrite rule to redirect back office requests to the "master" server.

  • Marcin Zajkowski 112 posts 585 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Jun 23, 2016 @ 22:09
    Marcin Zajkowski
    0

    Simon, do you keep master on separated subdomain / domain or doing this some other way (server registar etc.)?

  • Simon Dingley 1474 posts 3431 karma points c-trib
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 08:32
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Each of the servers behind the load balancer can be accessed via a unique subdomain so we check this in the rewrite rule and if not the correct one we redirect them to where we want them.

    I'm just in the process of upgrading the site to 7.4.3 and so not sure if there is anything new in there with the introduction of the new server registration stuff that can help with forcing an editing server?

    Cheers, Simon

  • Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12135 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 06:59
    Dave Woestenborghs
    1

    If youre package needs some caching that is also used in the frontend than you need to implement a cache refresher.

    See this one for a good example : https://github.com/Jeavon/SEOCheckerCacheRefresher

    Dave

  • Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13632 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 07:19
    Jeavon Leopold
    101

    Yes, as the guys have already answered Umbraco should only be accessed on one server. It's possible to access it from multiple but that is not supported and can cause corruption.

    If your values are only used on the back office then you will be ok. You could also use a CacheRefresher to update memory cache on multiple servers as Dave mentioned already.

  • Andrey Shchekin 3 posts 83 karma points
    Jun 23, 2016 @ 21:15
    Andrey Shchekin
    0

    Thanks! That simplifies my life a lot.

  • Ravi Motha 290 posts 500 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 09:43
    Ravi Motha
    1

    if you do try and have back office across mulitple servers .. very bad things will happen.. eventually...

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft