Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Yash Tahiliani 4 posts 74 karma points
    Sep 27, 2018 @ 10:27
    Yash Tahiliani

Archetype in latest Umbraco Versions

Hi,

I am using Archetypes in the latest Umbraco Version (7.12), as I'm not too keen on using Nested Content.

Is this ok? I am new to developing Umbraco websites so need some advice on this.

Thanks,

Yash

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Sep 27, 2018 @ 16:01
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Yash and welcome to the forum and to Umbraco :)

You should be able to still use Archetype. But since the project has been "Sunset" https://github.com/kgiszewski/Archetype no new versions will be released and the package is no longer maintained. So if you discover bugs or need to extend it you'll need to make your own custom build for instance.

But if you don't need any of that and you're happy with the package as it is you can keep using it. But there will probably come a time where the package will no longer be compatible with newer releases of Umbraco unless the project is relived for some reason of course. So it might be worth considering if switching to using Nested content is the better option after all.

Just out of curiosity - What is it about Nested Content that you're not keen on? Where do you think Archetype is better than Nested Content?

You could maybe also consider using "Embedded Content Blocks", which resembles Nested content in many ways but has a different UI and some other options and features built in - https://our.umbraco.com/packages/backoffice-extensions/embedded-content-blocks/

/Jan

• Yash Tahiliani 4 posts 74 karma points
    Sep 27, 2018 @ 16:11
    Yash Tahiliani

Hey Jan,