Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Flemming 4 posts 85 karma points
    Apr 11, 2019 @ 12:16
    Flemming

Any great feed/api handlers for Umbraco v8

Hi guys,

UPDATE: Will try to make it work with MongoDB.

I've been using Umbraco for quite a couple of years now. And in starting to have some performance issues.

My issues is primary the speed of my website. I import a great deal of data through feeds and generate XML files, that i then use to show products. All the products are stored as notes in Umbraco backend, and that seems to be the problem.

Is there any easy way, or package to handle some kind of extra database to fetch products from?

Im not a hardcore Umbraco developer, so if you haven't guessed it, im looking for an easy solution ;)

Atm at my fitness site (fitness-pris.dk) i import somewhere around 1.000 products, and if i import more, the site crashes.

FYI: Products are imported from XML feeds, somewhat like Google Shopping feeds.

• Corné Strijkert 80 posts 456 karma points c-trib
    Apr 11, 2019 @ 13:51
    Corné Strijkert

Hi,

Storing content with the ContentService in Umbraco isn't very fast. We had the same experiences with web application that are not readonly, but also adds content to Umbraco as nodes.

I would like to suggest to split the pure CMS content, the content that is needed to let your website operate correctly, from the product data. You can store the products in a very fast NoSQL database like MongoDB. Then in your Umbraco envrionment you only have the Products page. On that page you can load the products data from the external database. This is going to be a much faster approach.

You can consider to inject the (external) product data in the Umbraco page model by using RouteHijacking or something similar.