Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Adriano Fabri 458 posts 1601 karma points
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 16:01
    Adriano Fabri

Problems with custom routes and Umbraco 7 (404 error for children)

Hi, I'm trying to create a custom routing (umbraco v7.4.3) This is my first time with Umbraco/MVC and custom routes.

I created in content section an umbraco node (doctype: dati) called: dati (url: www.miodominio.it/dati) This will have an undefined number of child and the url could be something like this: - www.miodominio.it/dati/italy - www.miodominio.it/dati/italy/univeristy - www.miodominio.it/dati/italy/university/public - etc.

Where italy, university and public are parameters.

In content tree I create for now only the "dati" node (document type: dati).

I create a DynamicPageRoutesHandler.cs

I create a ContentFinder.cs

I create a DatiController.cs

I create a DatiModel.cs

I create a DatiView.cshtml

The "dati" page function properly because the node exist in content section and use my custom view correctly passed by my custom routing. When I try to display a child of dati (that not exist in content tree), I receive a 404 error

What I do now? First of all I don't know what and how many children will have the "dati" node I must create all rewriting urls for each parameter? Can I tell to Umbraco to render a virtual node (document type: "dati") that not exist in content tree? What is the right way?

Thank you in advance for help Adriano

• Lee Kelleher 4020 posts 15802 karma points MVP 13x admin c-trib
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 05:53
    Lee Kelleher

Hi Adriano,

The last time I did a custom routing with dynamic/wildcard parameters, I came up with this gist...

https://gist.github.com/leekelleher/5966488#file-myapplication-cs-L21

(See the comments under the code snippet)

Alternatively there's a package called AutoRouteTemplate that might be able to help.

Cheers,
    - Lee