Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Damien (Slipoch) 62 posts 346 karma points
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 05:02
    Damien (Slipoch)

Umbraco Noob here, I have found the documentation to be very underdeveloped for Umbraco 7 as it seems to rely on people having used prior versions.

I have created a surface controller and uploaded it to the site.

I have tried creating it VS2015 and it does not work, the documentation is incredibly light on any details as to how it should be implemented exactly. (should it use namespaces etc.)

Yes put the cs file in the controllers folder and make sure there is a corresponding action cshtml file in a folder named the same as the controller.

Folder Structure

Controller:

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using System.Web.Mvc;

public class ClassifiedController : Umbraco.Web.Mvc.SurfaceController
        {
            // GET: Classified
            [HttpPost]
            public ActionResult index()
            {

return View();
            }
        }

index.cshtml

@{
         Layout = null;
    }

<div>
        <div> 
            hello
        </div>
    </div>

Error message below, I believe it is happening when it tries to find routes or something to that effect. Error Message

Stacktrace: enter image description here

Are there any actual tutorials out there to create and apply surface controllers? Anybody know what is going on?

If you have a solution, please do not assume I know what libraries you are using and paste all your code.

• Dennis Adolfi 1082 posts 6446 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 06:30
    Dennis Adolfi

Hi Damien.

First problem is you should´nt use [HttpPost] above your ActionResult. Either remove that or use [HttpGet]. This is not Umbraco specific but more a MVC standard: http://www.tutorialsteacher.com/mvc/actionverbs-in-mvc