Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• JPL 3 posts 83 karma points
    Oct 09, 2016 @ 10:24
    JPL

Is there a way to register custom types without compiling the whole thing ?

Hi,

I am completely new with Umbraco. Just downloaded it, set it up and tried few stuff, published a page etc...

I'd like to use the CMS part and security part (members, permissions...) out of the box, but I'd like to customize the app part of the web site I want to build, using custom Controllers.

I would like to have a separate VS solution for that and just reference the Umbraco dlls to write my own stuff, so that in the development process I would not break the Umbraco deliveries.

I have looked everywhere in the documentation because I thought it obvious there would exist a way to register types in a config file so that at startup Umbraco would link my stuff to its own stuff. I think it's better for upgrading with a future delivery of Umbraco : just have to modify the references to the old dlls with the new one, upgrade my own code, and deploy and register my types in the new Umbraco delivery on the server side.

but it seems I am wrong and that I am obligated to modify the Umbraco's code and deploy the thing as a whole... is it right ?

• Nik 1611 posts 7237 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Oct 09, 2016 @ 11:37
    Nik

Hi JPL,

Not at all, you should very rarely needs to actually modify Umbraco. It is fully extensible and uses a variety of points where you can hook in to register behaviour etc.

The easiest way to hook into startup events is by creating a class that inherits from ApplicationEventHandler

As for controllers, you can look at inherting from SurfaceControllers and from RenderMVCControllers. Upon app start up, Umbraco looks for any occurrences of these found in dll's in the Bin or in code found in App_Code.