Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Thomas Shetler 4 posts 95 karma points
    Jan 20, 2017 @ 16:04
    Thomas Shetler

Programmatically changing url of created nodes via API

Hi,

So I am new to working with the API and I am working in a plain text editor (as opposed to Visual Studio). The following code runs whenever a node is saved and it will automatically empty the recycle bin. While useful for testing, I need to do something more relevant: I need to programmatically change the url of the node when it gets saved.

Thanks!

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using Umbraco.Core;
    using Umbraco.Core.Logging;

public class LogWhenSaved : ApplicationEventHandler
    {
    protected override void ApplicationStarted(UmbracoApplicationBase   umbracoApplication, ApplicationContext applicationContext)
    {
    Umbraco.Core.Services.ContentService.Saved += ContentService_Saved;
    }

void ContentService_Saved(Umbraco.Core.Services.IContentService sender, Umbraco.Core.Events.SaveEventArgs<Umbraco.Core.Models.IContent> e)
    {
        sender.EmptyRecycleBin();
    }
    }

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jan 20, 2017 @ 18:29
    Dirk De Grave

Hi Thomas,

I wouldn't know why you'd want to change the url of a node on a save event? If you wish to change the url of a node, you'd be better off creating your own implementation of a UrlProvider or UrlSegmentProvider, depending on what you want to change to the url

See https://our.umbraco.org/Documentation/Reference/Routing/Request-Pipeline/outbound-pipeline for more info.

If you're still stuck with the examples, let us know and give us some examples of desired output and we'll get you in the right direction...

--Dirk

• Thomas Shetler 4 posts 95 karma points
    Jan 20, 2017 @ 21:26
    Thomas Shetler

Hi Dirk,