Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Garth Egbert 4 posts 74 karma points
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 13:48
    Garth Egbert

Creating new members - password is stored as plain text

When creating new members through the MemberService, or by creating a new Member() and calling member.Save(), the password appears in the database in plain text.

These two methods appear to be the most intuitive ways to create a new member, yet these methods do not hash the password, despite the config setting (i.e. passwordFormat="Hashed")

If I use MemberService.SavePassword() it does hash the password, but this approach requires me to modify the config setting: allowManuallyChangingPassword="true" which violates best recommended practice.

I am very new to Umbraco, what is the correct workflow for creating new members and assigning a temporary password (hashed) so they can login?

• [email protected] 406 posts 2135 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Aug 10, 2017 @ 06:46
    jeffrey@umarketingsuite.com

Hi Garth,

welcome to Our!

This sounds a bit strange, because I would have expected that if you create the Member the password is stored according to the settings on the MembershipProvider.

A few questions that could help answering your question:

• Which version of Umbraco are you using?
    • Can you share some code that you're using
    • Can you copy paste the web.config MembershipProvider line that you are using?

And then we will try to solve this!

Thanks,

Jeffrey

Aug 10, 2017 @ 12:49
    Garth Egbert

Which version of Umbraco are you using?

Currently we are on v7.6.4

Can you share some code that you're using

I have tried many variations of creating a new member with a default password. Here is a very simple version, two lines:

cmsMember = new Member(parms.lastName + ", " + parms.firstName, parms.email, parms.email, tempPassword, cmsMemberType);
                    membersvc.Save(cmsMember);