Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Melvin Chew 10 posts 89 karma points
    Nov 16, 2017 @ 08:33
    Melvin Chew

Getting Media's URL from Umbraco's UID

Hi,

I'm using Umbraco V7.6 I'm quite new with umbraco and still experimenting this CMS.

I'm trying to return a string of the media's URL in my XYZapicontroller class.

in my XYZapicontroll class i added this following line,

string media = (ctx.cmsPropertyDatas.Where(x2 => x2.propertytypeid == rwupload.id && x2.contentNodeId == x.nodeId).First<cmsPropertyData>().dataNtext == null) ? "none" : ctx.cmsPropertyDatas.Where(x2 => x2.propertytypeid == rwupload.id && x2.contentNodeId == x.nodeId).First<cmsPropertyData>().dataNtext;

and i got back a string media of:

<Media>umb://media/d5e0b425a5704c2d8117bae2c5447eab</Media>

how do I convert this UID into the media's URL so that a mobile app that im developing will be able to play/view this media file?

Thanks and Appreciate the help

Melvin

• Dan Diplo 1554 posts 6205 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Nov 16, 2017 @ 09:10
    Dan Diplo

You should be able to convert using the Umbraco helper class, which is available in controllers derived from an Umbraco surface or API controller. Like this:

IPublishedContent mediaItem = Umbraco.TypedContent(media);

Where media string is your umb://media/ document.

Nov 21, 2017 @ 08:19
    Melvin Chew

Hi Dan

I tried doing this.

string media = (ctx.cmsPropertyDatas.Where(x2 => x2.propertytypeid == rwupload.id && x2.contentNodeId == x.nodeId).First<cmsPropertyData>().dataNtext == null) ? "none" : ctx.cmsPropertyDatas.Where(x2 => x2.propertytypeid == rwupload.id && x2.contentNodeId == x.nodeId).First<cmsPropertyData>().dataNtext;
                string murl = mediaItem.UrlWithDomain();

RARiskWatch rw = new RARiskWatch(id, title, body, murl);

and my web Api returns this exception:

<Error>
          <Message>An error has occurred.</Message>