Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Graham 4 posts 94 karma points
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 11:54
    Graham

Property Editor Settings example not working?

Hello, I'm new to Umbraco and to Angular, so apologies if this is a stupid question.

I have followed the video tutorials on umbraco.tv, and am currently adding settings to a property editor: https://umbraco.tv/videos/umbraco-v7/developer/extending/property-editors/using-services/

The code was working fine when I hard coded a character limit, but as soon as I introduce the $scope.model.config.limit, it stops working (if I look at $scope.model.config in Chrome inspector, it just says "Object", and there is no limit property).

I can see that my limit property is there when I edit the datatype (/developer/dataTypes/edit/id), but it is not there when editing the content itself.

I've been scratching my head (and banging it against my desk) for a while now.

I found the download for the source code, and copied / pasted it over my own work. I also made sure my cache is cleared and application fully restarted by changing web.config. I'm not sure if it is relevant, but I am debugging through Visual Studio 2015, and I am using the latest version of Umbraco (7.7.8). I have the same problem in Chome and Firefox.

The code, as I say, is a direct copy of what is available from the website, but for info, here it is:

charlimit.controller.js:

angular.module("umbraco").controller("Example.CharLimitController", function ($scope) {

$scope.limitchars = function () {
            var limit = $scope.model.config.limit;
            if ($scope.model.value.length > limit) {
                $scope.info = 'You cannot write more then ' + limit + ' characters!';
                $scope.model.value = $scope.model.value.substr(0, limit);
            }
            else {