Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alex 4 posts 74 karma points
    Jan 17, 2019 @ 11:44
    Alex

Custom Models and Controllers

Hello,

My name is Alex, it's nice to join the community. I'm a graphic designer in Plymouth UK that also does some light Umbraco Development work on the side. I say light because most of my working knowledge of Umbraco (and c# for that matter) is hacked together from different places and tutorials.

I've come up against a problem when trying to follow the documentation here.

When trying to view Profile.cshtml through the site I get the error:

No parameterless constructor defined for this object. Exception Details: System.MissingMethodException: No parameterless constructor defined for this object.

I've put the full stack trace at the bottom.

My intention is to have Profile.csthml use a custom model that inherits USNBaseViewModel. So that Profile template can be used with the layout components in the uSkinned theme.

I'm really stumped as to why this doesn't work, my model has a constructor that follows the documentation and other models in my own project. Why do those models when used by the site not return 'No parameterless constructor defined'? Any help or advice on how to go about resolving it would be great! Also are there any tips of beginner guides to understanding the stack trace outputs?

Many thanks for any and all help/pointers/clues. :)

My Code:

WtdMemberProfileController.cs - Controller

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using System.Web.Mvc;
    using Umbraco.Core.Models;

namespace gy_ccg_local.App_Code.WTDControllers
    {
        public class WtdMemberProfileController : Umbraco.Web.Mvc.RenderMvcController
        {
            // GET: WtdMemberProfile
            public ActionResult Profile(WTDModels.WtdMemberProfileModel model)
            {