Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• David Wouters 6 posts 96 karma points
    Mar 02, 2019 @ 13:23
    David Wouters

Methods missing from ContentService API

Hi, I am new to Umbraco development, and I am stuck because GetContentOfContentType, GetDescendants, and many other documented ContentService methods are missing from the API. I have both installed from NuGet, and built from source. What am I doing wrong? TIA,

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14324 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Mar 02, 2019 @ 16:05
    Marc Goodson

Hi David

Are you using v8 of Umbraco?

This version has only just been released (this week), and it contains a large number of breaking changes from V7. Sadly not all of these are documented yet!

This would explain why you aren't seeing the methods available on the ContentService that are documented as these have largely been renamed for V8.

So I think you should be able to use:

IEnumerable<IContent> GetPagedOfType(int contentTypeId, long pageIndex, int pageSize, out long totalRecords, IQuery<IContent> filter, Ordering ordering = null);

and

IEnumerable<IContent> GetPagedDescendants(int id, long pageIndex, int pageSize, out long totalRecords, IQuery<IContent> filter = null, Ordering ordering = null);

There is also a 'count descendants' property:

int CountDescendants(int parentId, string documentTypeAlias = null);

regards

Marc

Mar 02, 2019 @ 16:24
    David Wouters

Thanks Marc, yes it’s v8. I had already figured out some of the new methods (e.g. ContentTypeService.Get()), and I’d noticed the ones you mention, but as they are undocumented I’m not sure what they mean and what arguments to pass. But now I know I’m not overlooking something very obvious. I’ll see how far I can get without the doc.

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14324 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Mar 02, 2019 @ 17:14
    Marc Goodson

Hi David