Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Pam 2 posts 72 karma points
    Jun 05, 2019 @ 02:07
    Pam

Querying custom data and displaying a chart with filtering

Hello,

I have many years of experience as a .NET developer, but with Web Forms. I'm new to both Umbraco and MVC (and Git, which is how we're accessing the files for our development site) and am in a bit of a time crunch to convert something I previously developed as a user control on another platform.

The general idea is a page that dynamically loads data into a chart.js script and generates a graph. There are also two dropdowns, and whenever either dropdown is changed the data is filtered and the graph is redrawn.

I've set up a custom document type in Umbraco, and some of the data will definitely need to pull from there. There's also a chance some data will need to be loaded from an external API via HttpWebRequest.

I know I need a partial view, and if I'm understanding correctly I also need to create a model and a surface controller. I was following along with this tutorial on how to make a custom contact form: https://codeshare.co.uk/blog/how-to-create-a-contact-form-in-umbraco-using-mvc-and-c/. However, IntelliSense wasn't recognizing most of the code in Visual Studio, and no Razor templates were available when I tried to add a new view. I'm not sure the site is being recognized as MVC since it's not a project but files from a Git repository. Then I saw this post, where someone was struggling with what seems to be a very similar tutorial: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/22953639/building-a-contact-form-in-umbraco-7. That post says to put the model and and controller in the app_data folder, rather than the "models" and "controllers" folder under the root that the tutorial says to create.