Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Matthias S. 15 posts 35 karma points
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 21:44
    Matthias S.

Backoffice broken in version 4.5?

Hi,

I'm new to Umbraco and to cms on .net generally ;-)

I decided to use umbraco instead of dotnetnuke because umbraco is more open source oriented and apparently has the better community ;-)

I downloaded the v4.5 binaries from the website and extracted the archive to a new website directory on IIS6 running on win2k3. I completed the wizard without having any troubles and all data seemed to have been installed successfully (I got no error what so ever).

When I switch to the backoffice (I believe that's the name for the admin console?) I just have a tree control on the left side, but the "Sections" section on the button left is empty (I saw some screenshots on google and there should be some options ...). Addtionally some of the addons I have installed through runway seem to be broken - like the gallery which can't be modified ...

I'm not able to install one of the logging addons as I can't get to the install section in the backoffice (without taking a deeper look in the source code etc.). Therefore I just wanted to know if any of you has experienced problems like I have and if this is a problem with the setup or I just screwed something up while installing. (BTW: I installed it manually about 5 times now just to make sure I didn't do anything wrong and I was not able to install it through MS - they reported some error ...)

Thans for the help in advance!

Greetz

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 21:58
    Rich Green

This will more than likely solve your issue http://our.umbraco.org/forum/core/41-feedback/10732-Fresh-45-Install-No-Trees

Rich

Jul 18, 2010 @ 22:00
    Matthias S.

Wow,

the things I've read about the community are really more than true, I haven't expected an answer that fast!