Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sajid Riaz 142 posts 165 karma points
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:20
    Sajid Riaz

Paypal with umbraco 4.5.2

Hi Everyone,

I'm in the process of creating a webshop, where images and documents can be downloaded once paid for.

Seeing that I've never done ecommerce website before I thought the best way to get this done would be to use paypal.

so here's what I've done so far.  I create a shop document type.  under which sit shopitems doctypes.  shopitems doctype has properties like the preview of the image, description, price and I've added a property which should be the html link of the paypal button and called it paypallink.

So I will add the image to paypal first. Let paypal generate a buy now button and use the HTML it gives me and paste into the paypal link property.

I create an xslt macro to get all shopitems and run this in the shop doctype. 

The paypallink property does shows the html rather than rendering the html as a button.

But I'm not sure if I'm doing this correctly.  Any advice ideas would be much appreciated.

>>Sajid

• Sascha Wolter 615 posts 1101 karma points
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:44
    Sascha Wolter

Hi Sajid,

do I understand your solution in that whenever I (the customer) add an item in my shopping basket you will actually create a new content node in Umbraco? So each user has his shopping basket node?

For the button: you need to add disable-output-escaping="yes" to the <xsl:value-of> statement, then it should render as html and not text. However I wouldn't save the whole button in the property if possible as you are mixing content with visual display. Can't you just store the href part and create the link like

<a href="{your link here}">Pay with Paypal</a>

Hope that helps,

Sascha

Sep 13, 2010 @ 15:17
    Sajid Riaz

Hi Sascha,

Thanks for your reply.