Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Geoff Baldwin 80 posts 100 karma points
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 18:47
    Geoff Baldwin

Confused about where to install in wwwroot

Hi

I have been 'playing' with Umbraco for a few days - mostly unsuccessfully :( - and I'm confused a to the 'right' way to install. I am a total newbie to using a CMS for developemnt having always used asp.net and VWD. Also, I did not have to worry about ISS as I developed locally and then FTP'd the site(s) to  sites set up by the company I use for hosting.

I am testing on a Laptop with Windows 7 Pro with 2gb ram .

I have installed generally using WPI 3.0.

When I install Umbraco I am asked for the name of the Umbraco installation. If I provide one (eg MySite) umbraco is installed in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Mysite\

BUT...If I download and install the CWS package into that site I find that styles are not applied etc. Leaving out the name of the Umbraco site at installation results in an installation in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\ and then CWS works.

I have not tested but I suspect that the same is true of the Runway modules as the top menu and drop down menu do not work under the first scenario.

If Umbraco cannot live within these subfolders why allow an install in that way?

So it looks like I can only have one site under development/ testing on my laptop? Bit of a restriction as I have a couple of different projects I am playing with - a photogallery site (probably going to have to develop my own using the Gallery package as I don't like the fact that a thumbnail has to be craeted for every photo in CWS and here is no bulk upload) and a "business site"

I have taken a look at http://our.umbraco.org/forum/getting-started/installing-umbraco/2554-Multiple-portals-in-one-wwwroot but I can't figure out what is meant by

"You can host as many domains as you want in a single umbraco instance.