Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dave 48 posts 68 karma points
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 18:05
    Dave

Umbraco version and a test site

Hi

My second post having done nothing on Umbraco since the first one 4 months ago!

I have taken over a number of Umbraco websites (I have no significant Umbraco knowledge!!!) from someone who has left, and left little documentation. I have to create a test site for one of these and am at a loss as to know where to start. Questions :

1....how do I find out what version of Umbraco the sites are running?

2....i have copied the live site to a test server and pointed IIS at the folder containing the copied files, when I point a browser at the address I get 'Server application Unavailable ....' (hoping that it would simply work!!).

hopefully somebody can help with these (very) basic questions and I can get on with changing the site!!!

Thanks in advance

Dave

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 18:22
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Dave

1: When you're logged in to the umbraco backend you can see the version by clicking the "About" button in the upper right corner

2: Have you copied only the files or do you have a dump of the database as well? You need to be aware that the network service probably needs full permissions (as long as it's not a live site your're testing I think this should be okay, but otherwise some of the brighter minds in here can probably tell you how to setup permissions most securely). But this part is hard to answer more specifically before you know, which versions you're running. If it's umbraco 4 the app pool should run ASP.NET 2 and should be set to either classic or integrated...can't remember it from the top of my head.

If it's running 4.5.2 on ASP.NET 4 the application pool should be set to ASP.NET 4 and integrated mode.