Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• William 3 posts 23 karma points
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 10:22
    William

How to install existing umbraco site to IIS

Hi,

I am totally new to umbraco, and our company is not using umbraco for web development. However, we do have one client requested to host his umbraco website on our server. And I have no idea how to do that, cause we are using a different CMS.

Question1: Do I need to download and install "Umbraco" on our server? (We are using iis 7)

I have installed "umbraco" toegether with "web matrix" on my local machine, I did successfully run and view in the website in web matrix.

However when set up the webiste on iis7 on our web server. It just doesn't work. It always display internal server error - 500.

I did remember to change the connection string and other configuration in the web config. I also retsore the database backup on MS SQL server 2008 R2. And the connection string is pointing to the right place. It just doesn't work.

What can I do?

Thanks

William

• E.J. Brennan 73 posts 114 karma points
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:01
    E.J. Brennan

I do beleive you can manually copy his installation to your server, and bypass the install process - without much problem.(This is on IIS7.5 and Windows Server 2008R2)

I recently copied an install to my production IIS7.5 server by simply creating the directory, copying in all the appropriate files and directories from where it is already running and then setting up the website in IIS with the appropriate bindings. (and of course you'll need to take care of the DNS ahead of time). You may also need to backup the SQL server database and restore to the new location if that is moving to.