Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• mikey mcmanus 4 posts 24 karma points
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 17:38
    mikey mcmanus

total newbie! help with web matrix and umbraco cms install

I'll be honest here and state for the record I haven't a clue, or it would at least seem that way, but I am prepared for the onslaught of comments.

I have just installed web matrix, mySQL etc on my PC...which was easy but when I use web platform installer and try to down load the file it presents me with database user name fields and passwords...but what are these?  what are they for do I need an account with Umbraco or is it my PC?  I really don't know and could do with some guidance.

All the help notes and downloads assume you know this information and just glaze over it, so it must mean I've not done something and I'm hopefull some kind sould here will do that.

thanks in advance,

Mikey

• Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2196 karma points MVP
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 20:53
    Kim Andersen

Hi there Mikey and welcome to the wonderful world of Umbraco :)

First of all, have you selected MySQL as your database? The username and passwords you have to enter at this step is the login information on the database. When you create the database, you must provide a username and a password so that you've got a user that has access to the database. Does that make sense at all?

Another approach you could consider is to use the SQL CE database. If you choose this option, you don't have to think about a username, password, creating a database and server name as the installer will take care of all those things for you.

/Kim A

Mar 12, 2011 @ 21:13
    mikey mcmanus