Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Bambe 45 posts 66 karma points
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 03:07
    Bambe
    0

    installing Umbraco 4.7 on virtual directory?

    I search a article here
    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/getting-started/installing-umbraco/3121-Installing-Umbraco-4-on-a-virtual-directory

    but the article post are long time ago

    now umbraco new release is 4.7

    it possible to installing on virtual directory??

    and in the future it possible can?

     

    I have a project needs to be in the virtual directory
    (the Customers required the old site reserved at least half year)

    any idea??

    thx alot :)

  • Daniel Bardi 923 posts 2554 karma points
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 06:47
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    Yes... since 4.5 I believe.  It used to be that Umbraco needed to be at the root of the site, but not any longer.

  • Michael Hyldsgaard 64 posts 124 karma points
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 07:05
    Michael Hyldsgaard
    1

    Daniel is right... no problem with virtual directories.

    Remember to stop search engines access to the old website to avoid duplicate content and setup correct 301 redirects from old to new urls too.

     

  • Daniel Bardi 923 posts 2554 karma points
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 07:12
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    Michael.. thanks for validation... your also right... if your moving umbraco to a virtual directory, setup 301 redirects.. there are a couple of packages that will help in that process.

  • Bambe 45 posts 66 karma points
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 04:47
    Bambe
    0

    thx alot :)

    but I try install on virtual directory

    the page it can not run without '.aspx'

    e.g. can't running: http://urls/news/how-about
    running: http://urls/news/how-about.aspx

    where the setting I have to change??

    thx alot :)

     

    Regards,

    Bambe

  • Daniel Bardi 923 posts 2554 karma points
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 05:25
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    In the web.config change the app setting "umbracoUseDirectoryUrls" to true.

    You'll need to republish entire site from "Content" node.

  • Muhammad Humayun 49 posts 79 karma points
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 00:43
    Muhammad Humayun
    0

    I have got a wierd problem.

    I'm installing umbraco 4.7 on godaddy hosting where i have several domains.

    i have set up a domain to a folder and made that folder as a virtual directory in IIS (.net 4)

    All goes fine but the problem is with the URL, domain name is automatically being repeated for each and every URL.

    e.g http://domain.com/domain.com/pageX/

    Note: i have not touch any configurations files so far apart from db connection string.

    I'm not sure if its the problem with virtual directories or i have to ammend some settings.

    Could you please help in this regard?

    Thanks

     

  • Mahfuz 2 posts 22 karma points
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 00:57
    Mahfuz
    0

    After i installed umbraco site in virtual directory the site itself runs okay

    but the admin panel does not show any button images or contents of pages. Any one has any idea.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft