Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Adam 6 posts 27 karma points
    May 24, 2011 @ 20:44
    Adam

Installing Umbraco as a separate application to an existing website.

Hello all,

I'm new to Umbraco and I am currently  researching Umbracos CMS capabilities as a way to supplement our existing website.  I'm hoping that it will be a more efficient way for our writers to publish blogs, newsletters, etc.

Our existing site is quite large (100s of subdirectories off the root). The site also has lots of custom code, as well as its own membership code (not a forms membership provider). I've been researching Umbraco and love it capabilities, but, I am struggling to find a efficient way to integrate it into our existing site.  My first inclination was to add Umbraco as a application under our website (in IIS).  After installing Umbraco as a  application under a test site (which is kind of working).  I noticed a few obvious issues, mainly with the relative paths to image, css, and js files.  I also noticed that some of the functional pages in the content publisher/editor are also not working (probably wrong path).

I've searched the forums and found several people asking similar questions - Can Umbraco be integrated into an existing website by adding it as a separate application?  Many of the answers say this is not supported. Or, they say that it will be supported in a future version 4.x. 

So my questions are:

1. Does anyone know if adding Umbraco as an application to an existing website is supported in the latest release?
    2. Is there a better way to do this?