Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• matthewatkins 22 posts 42 karma points
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 19:15
    matthewatkins

New to Umbraco

I want to preface by saying that I'm a complete noob to Umbraco, ASP.NET and the windows server environment. I normally dev in PHP on a LAMP stack.

I'm new to a company that is bringing our website and marketing in house from an agency. As the web designer my first job is to create a local install of the website that the agency had created. They have provided me with a back up of the whole website. Now, I'm just trying to get it going using IIS. So far I've been unsuccessful. Would love some help.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 19:25
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Matthew and welcome to the fun world of Umbraco development :-)

I think it would be nice if you could post the steps you have taken trying to get the site up and running so far so we can get a sense of where you are in the process. I think it will be much easier to guide you then.

Do you also have a dump of the database or do you just need to connect to the live database?

What version of Windows are you running and what version of Umbraco are you trying to install?

Looking forward to hear more from you.

/Jan

Jun 06, 2011 @ 19:51
    matthewatkins

I am on Windows 7 and using Umbraco 4.0.3.

So far I've copied the files over to my wwwroot and created an application in IIS. I do have a dumb of the database as a .mdf file.

Jun 06, 2011 @ 19:53
    Jan Skovgaard

Ok...what problems are you having trying to setup the site in IIS? Getting YSOD or what is the issue?

/Jan

Jun 06, 2011 @ 19:55
    matthewatkins

right now I get a service unavailable when I visit in the browser. One thing I'm not completely sure how to do is connect the database properly.

Jun 06, 2011 @ 20:16
    Jan Skovgaard

Ok...