Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sul 8 posts 28 karma points
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:27
    Sul

New to Umbraco Questions

Dear Friends,

I am an ASP.NET developer for long time but I've never used CMS before. I am about to develop a new project which will use Umbraco as a CMS. The website will be an ecommerce with forum. There will be other 3 sub domain websites which will be content websites plus contact us page. Here are my questions:

- What would be my option in this scenario? Do I need to install 4 Umbraco instances? One for each website

- Does using Umbraco limits me to use ASP.NET MVC or I am ok to use ASP.NET forms?

- You don't expect to create such a project using the Umbraco admin, right? How do I use Visual Studio, for example I will have my project that will use Umbraco, how to do that? do I need to load the whole Umbraco in Visual Studio and add my files there or I can just work on the project as normal but make some communication with Umbraco for the dynamic content to be manageable.

Any help, articles, tutorials would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,
    Sul

• Thomas Enggaard Christensen 24 posts 49 karma points
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:43
    Thomas Enggaard Christensen

1: You dont have to install 4 instances of Umbraco. You can make 4 "website roots" in the content area, and asign the required hostname to each root. That way umbraco will automaticaly route your request to the right page by the hostname in the request. (Right click the node and click the "hostnames" item in the context menu)

2: Umbraco versions up to 4.7 (current version) uses asp.net forms. Umbraco v5 will lbe switching to MVC.