Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• MrMufakka 24 posts 44 karma points
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 01:18
    MrMufakka

Login fails after restore

Hello

First time Umbraco user here. I've been fighting with a site for several days. About to give up. Here's the dilemma.

Umbraco installs great. I can log in at the /umbraco screen and it all works. Then comes the database restore (I'm transferring this site from another server). The restore completes however now when I try to log in at the /umbraco screen, I just get the red shakey boxes.

I found this thread during a search and tried the command that is posted there that drops and adds the user. I've executed this code with no errors but I still can't get in. I'm out of ideas.

http://our.umbraco.org/forum/getting-started/installing-umbraco/5199-Copy-existing-Umbraco-instance---SQL-Server-problems?p=0

Also, I'm very new to SQL. Please be kind in your replies.

Thanks!!

• Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 04:38
    Tom Fulton

Hi,

After you did the database restore, moved the files, updated permissions etc - did you update the web.config with the new connection string details (new server name, database name, user, password)?  The red shakey boxes can occur if the site can't access the database for whatever reason (instead of giving a DB connection error).  When this happens to me I usually visit the front end of the website and it gives me the real SQL error that leads me in the right direction.

Might not be your issue, but worth a shot to check..

-Tom

Jun 23, 2011 @ 04:52
    MrMufakka

Thanks for the reply and the info about there possibly being a different error than the username or password.