Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:36
    Peter Duncanson

Improving the installation experience

After being a long time user of Umbraco now I hope this gets taken as intended and not as a slap in the face.

I've always struggled with installing Umbraco but I thought that was mainly due to be running it on XP Pro which was never the usual route. Now I'm on Win 7 though I'm still amazed at how hard it is to install on a clean machine. I do this for a living and it should be easier, a lot easier. If I'm doing something wrong after 3 years of Umbraco playing around then what about those new folk coming in behind us who are trying it out for the first time?

We have the very nice installer that the fine gents at Cog Works, it looks great. Yet even with it what I'm worried about is the technical knowledge and percieved size of the install to new users (and even experienced ones, I'd forgotten just how much stuff was needed!)

Umbraco itself is quite small (about 8Mb I believe) but to install it on a clean machine I need to download over 0.5 Gb of applications. This makes it far from a quick win that you can have a play with over a lunch time. Surely to improve the number folk trying Umbraco for the first time we as a community (and HQ) should be making this initial introduction to Umbraco easy and at least give some feedback on why you have to install a mountain of stuff to get it running. Web Installer is no easy quick win, nor is going through the codeplex source either, not tried web matrix yet, why should I when I have and use VS every day?

Even when I have downloaded everything, restarted, downloaded some more, restarted, downloaded some more and done a final restart...I still need to know what the heck I'm doing technically to get it up and running.